our thoughts
Archive for October 2008
Meiao Co domain name scam
28 October 2008
One of our clients received the following email:
Dear Sir/Madam.,
We received a formal application from a company who is called Meiao Co.,Ltd (www.meiaoinv.cn) are applying to register “XXXXXX” as their domain name and Internet keyword in China and also in Asia on Oct 27, 2008. During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd has no trade mark, brand nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd to be a domain grabber. Hence we need you confirmation for two things, First of all, whether this alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd is your business partner or distributor in China.
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains. (The alleged Meiao Co.,Ltd will be entitled to obtain a domain not needed by original trademark owner.)
If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept.
This is a letter for confirmation. If the mentioned third party is your business partner or distributor in china please DO NOT reply. We will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure.
Bst Rgs
Luke.Jiang
Registration Commissioner
WWW DOMAINBOX GROUP CO.LTD
Tel: +86-10-80747734
Fax: +86-10-80747824
Email:luke@boxs.asia
Http://www.boxs.asia
This is a scam, albeit a very convincing one, and you can safely ignore it. If you need to get a Chinese domain name we can help you with a safer, less costly method.
Posted in Other | No Comments »
